AfroRiri WCW is Amandla Stenberg

At AfroRiri Haircare , our Wednesdays are dedicated to naturalistas we admire and love. Hopefully, by seeing our WCW you are encouraged to continue your natural hair journey.

Our WCW is Amandla Stenberg . She is an award winning American actress, musician, co-author and filmmaker.

She was born October 23, 1999. Her name means power or strength in Zulu and Xhosa.

At the age of four, she started doing catalog modelling shoots for Disney. She has appeared in commercials for clients such as Boeing. In 2011, she appeared in her first feature film, Colombiana, as a younger version of Zoe Saldana’s character. Her career breakthrough came when she was cast as Rue in the 2012 film the hunger games. In 2013 Amandla began performing on the violin and singing harmonies at LA venues with singer/songwriter Zander Hawley. The folk-rock duo known as Honeywater, released their first EP in August 2015.

Amandla Stenberg is working steadily towards being the voice of a generation as well as a beauty role model for young women, and she isn’t afraid to experiment with her look.

Embracing her natural hair turned out to be a great move for her she said: “All of the sudden, it gave me so much more confidence. I’m so much more comfortable with my hair, my body, and everything. So hair is super central to how I express myself because it’s just kind of part of the Black experience: Doing your hair is always an event. I really love my hair, I really embrace it, and I’m so glad that I made the decision to wear it natural.”

“When I was younger, I struggled with my hair a lot because it was too hard to deal with — it was too poofy, it was too big, and I just wanted it to go down, flat against my head,” she says. “I put treatments in my hair to try to make it look straight, and in the past year, I realized that that’s so not necessary. I really love my natural hair texture and my curls and so I went totally natural and had to do the big chop…and the curls sprung back to life.”

She rocks her natural hair on red carpets, interviews, movie sets and photo shoots.

She is the definition of a true naturalista who looks naturally fabulous!

So you see that having and wearing your own natural hair does not make you less successful.Screenshot_2015-11-05-03-08-12-1Screenshot_2015-11-05-03-08-01-1amandla

One thought on “AfroRiri WCW is Amandla Stenberg

Leave a Reply

